What I’ll Miss About Summer (part 2)

It’s still about the Program and the Glen but I’m going to talk about the things I’m going to miss about my work. 🙂

I work in Banquets department for 20 hours/week and I usually work in the morning shift (I love working in the morning it makes me feel so alive even when I’m sleepy). And by morning shift that means I get to get up at around 5:30 am cause I have to be at work at 6:45 am (talk about prepping up, and I do my quiet time early in the morning). I work in a very fancy dining hall called the King James.

I just love everything about my job—the environment, serving guests through food and drinks, and also the chance to get to know them, the FOOD (cause we get to eat what guests eat so I just love it. I love food actually) especially the people I’ve worked with and our manager who’s very friendly, outgoing and a mother to all of us in the department.

kj

I see how God has been working to people I serve in dining through their life stories. It has blessed and encouraged me throughout the summer and it’s one of the reasons why I always look forward working. Volunteering at the King James also taught me to be humble in a sense that working with willingness and a servant heart can also serve as a channel of blessing not only to guests but to my co-workers as well—it encourages them also to work hard with an understanding and open mind and also to relate with people with no judgment or whatnot.

Another favorite thing at the King James is that I’ve gotten close to people I’ve worked with. I thought that in America, I can only interact with my co-workers with work-related stuff but I was wrong. We were able to share our lives with one another through stories (again) about life, love life and our relationship with Him. I play with them during free times and laugh with them. My co-workers are one of the greatest blessings I’ve received this summer and I can’t thank them enough for the impact that they have left in my heart. They totally changed my perspective in life. They have become my friends.

It’s always heartbreaking to bid goodbyes to people whom you already loved and shared your life with. But I thank God for the wonderful opportunity to work with them and to serve guests at the KJ. Surely I will miss every single thing and person about Banquets and the Glen. I’m looking forward to see and work with them again in the future. Oh dear, I just love life so much. 🙂

Leave a Reply

